Tennessee HB1920 | Foreclosure Bill Fight Rages, Publishing Info in Newspapers Costly, Banksters Says

“Politically speaking, legislators may have more to fear from the bankers who collectively gave more than $200,000 to state political candidates last year, according to a review of records by The Tennessean. That includes $184,750 donated by the Tennessee Bankers Association”

~

Foreclosure bill fight rages

Publishing info in newspapers costly, bankers group says

NASHVILLE – Legislation to cut back on the number and length of home foreclosure legal notices now required in Tennessee is being pushed by bankers who stand to save money if the bill passes and opposed by newspapers that stand to lose money.

While that is clear, the two sides – both aided by a contingent of lobbyists – clashed sharply over whether the proposed change would benefit financially strapped homeowners and the general public as the bill advanced in the House last week.

As drafted and introduced at the behest of the Tennessee Bankers Association, HB1920 would require that just one notice of a pending foreclosure be published in a newspaper based in the county where the property is located.

Current law requires three notices. That has been the case for more than 125 years in Tennessee, according to Steve Baker, a Nashville foreclosure attorney who testified before committee in support of sticking with the “tried and true” three-time publication rule.

The bill was amended in committee last week to set the number of required notices at two, a move that sponsor Rep. Jimmy Matlock, R-Lenoir City, characterized as “compromising with ourselves.”

Check out the rest of the report here…

Full text of bill below…

Let’s support our friends in Tennessee by contacting the House and Senate.

The bill is scheduled for a hearing Tuesday in the Senate Judiciary Committee and for a House floor vote on Thursday.

Senate Judiciary Committee

Contact Information

Callan Wilkerson, Research Analyst
7 Legislative Plaza
Phone (615) 741-7821

House Reps
Representative Party Sponsor List District Map Office Phone (615) E-mail
Alexander, David R Sponsored Bills List District 39 107 WMB 741-8695 rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov
Armstrong, Joe E. D Sponsored Bills List District 15 35 LP 741-0768 rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov
Bass, Eddie D Sponsored Bills List District 65 37 LP 741-1864 rep.eddie.bass@capitol.tn.gov
Brooks, Harry R Sponsored Bills List District 19 212 WMB 741-6879 rep.harry.brooks@capitol.tn.gov
Brooks, Kevin R Sponsored Bills List District 24 104 WMB 741-1350 rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov
Brown, Tommie F. D Sponsored Bills List District 28 32 LP 741-4374 rep.tommie.brown@capitol.tn.gov
Butt, Sheila R Sponsored Bills List District 64 106 WMB 741-3005 rep.sheila.butt@capitol.tn.gov
Campbell, Scotty R Sponsored Bills List District 3 107 WMB 741-2050 rep.scotty.campbell@capitol.tn.gov
Camper, Karen D. D Sponsored Bills List District 87 24 LP
741-1898
rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
Carr, Joe R Sponsored Bills List District 48 205 WMB 741-2180 rep.joe.carr@capitol.tn.gov
Casada, Glen R Sponsored Bills List District 63 25 LP 741-4389 rep.glen.casada@capitol.tn.gov
Cobb, Jim R Sponsored Bills List District 31 110A WMB 741-1450 rep.jim.cobb@capitol.tn.gov
Coley, Jim R Sponsored Bills List District 97
207 WMB
741-8201 rep.jim.coley@capitol.tn.gov
Cooper, Barbara D Sponsored Bills List District 86 38 LP 741-4295 rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov
Curtiss, Charles D Sponsored Bills List District 43 34 LP 741-1963 rep.charles.curtiss@capitol.tn.gov
Dean, Vince R Sponsored Bills List District 30 107 WMB 741-1934 rep.vince.dean@capitol.tn.gov
DeBerry, John J., Jr. D Sponsored Bills List District 90 26 LP 741-2239 rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov
DeBerry, Lois M. D Sponsored Bills List District 91 33 LP 741-3830 rep.lois.deberry@capitol.tn.gov
Dennis, Vance R Sponsored Bills List District 71 209A WMB 741-2190 rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov
Dunn, Bill R Sponsored Bills List District 16 115 WMB 741-1721 rep.bill.dunn@capitol.tn.gov
Elam, Linda R Sponsored Bills List District 57 212 WMB 741-7462 rep.linda.elam@capitol.tn.gov
Eldridge, Jimmy A. R Sponsored Bills List District 73 208 WMB 741-7475 rep.jimmy.eldridge@capitol.tn.gov
Evans, Joshua G. R Sponsored Bills List District 66 25 LP 741-2860 rep.joshua.evans@capitol.tn.gov
Faison, Jeremy R Sponsored Bills List District 11 202 WMB 741-6871 rep.jeremy.faison@capitol.tn.gov
Favors, Joanne D Sponsored Bills List District 29 35 LP 741-2702 rep.joanne.favors@capitol.tn.gov
Fitzhugh, Craig D Sponsored Bills List District 82 33 LP 741-2134 rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov
Floyd, Richard R Sponsored Bills List District 27 G-24 WMB 741-2746 rep.richard.floyd@capitol.tn.gov
Ford, Dale R Sponsored Bills List District 6 202A WMB 741-1717 rep.dale.ford@capitol.tn.gov
Forgety, John R Sponsored Bills List District 23 109 WMB 741-1725 rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov
Gilmore, Brenda D Sponsored Bills List District 54 22 LP 741-1997 rep.brenda.gilmore@capitol.tn.gov
Gotto, Jim R Sponsored Bills List District 60 205 WMB 741-6959 rep.jim.gotto@capitol.tn.gov
Halford, Curtis R Sponsored Bills List District 79 108 WMB 741-7478 rep.curtis.halford@capitol.tn.gov
Hall, Steve R Sponsored Bills List District 18 113 WMB 741-2287 rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov
Hardaway, G. A. D Sponsored Bills List District 92 22 LP 741-5625 rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov
Harmon, Bill W. D Sponsored Bills List District 37 24 LP 741-6849 rep.bill.harmon@capitol.tn.gov
Harrison, Michael R Sponsored Bills List District 9 206A WMB 741-7480 rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov
Harwell, Speaker Beth R Sponsored Bills List District 56 19 LP 741-0709 speaker.beth.harwell@capitol.tn.gov
Hawk, David R Sponsored Bills List District 5 201 WMB 741-7482 rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov
Haynes, Ryan A. R Sponsored Bills List District 14 214 WMB 741-2264 rep.ryan.haynes@capitol.tn.gov
Hensley, Joey R Sponsored Bills List District 70 106 WMB 741-7476 rep.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov
Hill, Matthew R Sponsored Bills List District 7 25 LP 741-2251 rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov
Holt, Andy H. R Sponsored Bills List District 76 205 WMB 741-7847 rep.andy.holt@capitol.tn.gov
Hurley, Julia R Sponsored Bills List District 32 114 WMB 741-7658 rep.julia.hurley@capitol.tn.gov
Johnson, Curtis G. R Sponsored Bills List District 68 215 WMB 741-4341 rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov
Johnson, Phillip R Sponsored Bills List District 78 104 WMB 741-7477 rep.phillip.johnson@capitol.tn.gov
Jones, Sherry D Sponsored Bills List District 59 26 LP 741-2035 rep.sherry.jones@capitol.tn.gov
Keisling, Kelly R Sponsored Bills List District 38 108 WMB 741-6852 rep.kelly.keisling@capitol.tn.gov
Kernell, Mike D Sponsored Bills List District 93 38 LP 741-3726 rep.mike.kernell@capitol.tn.gov
Lollar, Ron R Sponsored Bills List District 99 214 WMB 741-7084 rep.ron.lollar@capitol.tn.gov
Lundberg, Jon R Sponsored Bills List District 1 20 LP 741-7623 rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov
Maggart, Debra Young R Sponsored Bills List District 45 103 WMB 741-3893 rep.debra.maggart@capitol.tn.gov
Marsh, Pat R Sponsored Bills List District 62 110 WMB 741-6824 rep.pat.marsh@capitol.tn.gov
Matheny, Judd R Sponsored Bills List District 47 15 LP 741-7448 rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov
Matlock, Jimmy R Sponsored Bills List District 21 219 WMB 741-3736 rep.jimmy.matlock@capitol.tn.gov
McCormick, Gerald R Sponsored Bills List District 26 18A LP 741-2548 rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov
McDaniel, Steve R Sponsored Bills List District 72 18 LP 741-0750 rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov
McDonald, Michael Ray D Sponsored Bills List District 44 37 LP 741-1980 rep.michael.mcdonald@capitol.tn.gov
McManus, Steve R Sponsored Bills List District 96 20 LP 741-1920 rep.steve.mcmanus@capitol.tn.gov
Miller, Don R Sponsored Bills List District 10 113 WMB 741-6877 rep.don.miller@capitol.tn.gov
Miller, Larry J. D Sponsored Bills List District 88 32 LP 741-4453 rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov
Montgomery, Richard R Sponsored Bills List District 12 109 WMB 741-5981 rep.richard.montgomery@capitol.tn.gov
Moore, Gary W. D Sponsored Bills List District 50 32 LP 741-4317 rep.gary.moore@capitol.tn.gov
Naifeh, Speaker Emeritus Jimmy D Sponsored Bills List District 81 G19A WMB 741-3774 spk.eme.jimmy.naifeh@capitol.tn.gov
Niceley, Frank S. R Sponsored Bills List District 17 108 WMB 741-4419 rep.frank.niceley@capitol.tn.gov
Odom, Gary D Sponsored Bills List District 55 23 LP 741-4410 rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov
Parkinson, Antonio D Sponsored Bills List District 98 36 LP 741-4575 rep.antonio.parkinson@capitol.tn.gov
Pitts, Joe D Sponsored Bills List District 67 34 LP 741-2043 rep.joe.pitts@capitol.tn.gov
Pody, Mark R Sponsored Bills List District 46 203 WMB 741-7086 rep.mark.pody@capitol.tn.gov
Powers, Dennis R Sponsored Bills List District 36 202 WMB 741-3335 rep.dennis.powers@capitol.tn.gov
Pruitt, Mary D Sponsored Bills List District 58 36 LP 741-3853 rep.mary.pruitt@capitol.tn.gov
Ragan, John R Sponsored Bills List District 33 G-24 WMB 741-4400 rep.john.ragan@capitol.tn.gov
Ramsey, Bob R Sponsored Bills List District 20 207 WMB 741-3560 rep.bob.ramsey@capitol.tn.gov
Rich, Barrett R Sponsored Bills List District 94 117 WMB 741-6890 rep.barrett.rich@capitol.tn.gov
Richardson, Jeanne D Sponsored Bills List District 89 26 LP 741-2010 rep.jeanne.richardson@capitol.tn.gov
Roach, Dennis E. R Sponsored Bills List District 35 217 WMB 741-2534 rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov
Sanderson, Bill R Sponsored Bills List District 77 204 WMB 741-0718 rep.bill.sanderson@capitol.tn.gov
Sargent, Charles Michael R Sponsored Bills List District 61 206 WMB 741-6808 rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov
Sexton, Cameron R Sponsored Bills List District 25 20 LP 741-2343 rep.cameron.sexton@capitol.tn.gov
Shaw, Johnny D Sponsored Bills List District 80 36 LP 741-4538 rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov
Shepard, David D Sponsored Bills List District 69 34 LP 741-3513 rep.david.shepard@capitol.tn.gov
Shipley, Tony R Sponsored Bills List District 2 114 WMB 741-2886 rep.tony.shipley@capitol.tn.gov
Sontany, Janis Baird D Sponsored Bills List District 53 23 LP 741-6861 rep.janis.sontany@capitol.tn.gov
Sparks, Mike R Sponsored Bills List District 49 203 WMB 741-6829 rep.mike.sparks@capitol.tn.gov
Stewart, Mike D Sponsored Bills List District 52 24 LP 741-2184 rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov
Swann, Art R Sponsored Bills List District 8 219 WMB 741-5481 rep.art.swann@capitol.tn.gov
Tidwell, John C. D Sponsored Bills List District 74 22 LP 741-7098 rep.john.tidwell@capitol.tn.gov
Tindell, Harry J. D Sponsored Bills List District 13 35 LP 741-2031 rep.harry.tindell@capitol.tn.gov
Todd, Curry R Sponsored Bills List District 95 209 WMB 741-1866 rep.curry.todd@capitol.tn.gov
Towns, Joe , Jr. D Sponsored Bills List District 84 37 LP 741-2189 rep.joe.towns@capitol.tn.gov
Turner, Johnnie D Sponsored Bills List District 85 38 LP 741-6954 rep.johnnie.turner@capitol.tn.gov
Turner, Mike D Sponsored Bills List District 51 17 LP 741-3229 rep.mike.turner@capitol.tn.gov
Watson, Eric R Sponsored Bills List District 22 102 WMB 741-7799 rep.eric.watson@capitol.tn.gov
Weaver, Terri Lynn R Sponsored Bills List District 40 105 WMB 741-2192 rep.terri.lynn.weaver@capitol.tn.gov
White, Mark R Sponsored Bills List District 83 110 WMB 741-4415 rep.mark.white@capitol.tn.gov
Williams, Kent CCR Sponsored Bills List District 4 G-2 WMB 741-7450 rep.kent.williams@capitol.tn.gov
Williams, Ryan R Sponsored Bills List District 42 109 WMB 741-1875 rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov
Windle, John Mark D Sponsored Bills List District 41 23 LP 741-1260 rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov
Wirgau, Tim R Sponsored Bills List District 75 204 WMB 741-6804 rep.tim.wirgau@capitol.tn.gov
Womick, Rick R Sponsored Bills List District 34 207 WMB 741-2804 rep.rick.womick@capitol.tn.gov

~

4closureFraud.org

~

HB1920 AN ACT to amend Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 35, Chapter 5, relative to judicial or trust sales

Comments
2 Responses to “Tennessee HB1920 | Foreclosure Bill Fight Rages, Publishing Info in Newspapers Costly, Banksters Says”
  1. talktotennessee says:

    Tennessee with its Republican majority legislature is bent on removing the rights of the people this year. So far they have tackled collective bargaining, tort reform and foreclosure laws all designed to increase corporate control in Tennessee. Many constituents are unaware they are losing their rights to be heard, to a jury, to protect their homes in court through actions of their own elected legislature, who is bent on stilling the voice of the very people who elected them.
    What does taking campaign money from the banking industry to alter 125 year old laws make one of these legislators, who was elected to protect the people they represent?

    I hope everyone who reads this article will e-mail, write or call Tennessee representatives to protest their concerted effort to change laws to benefit the banking industry. Let them know the entire U.S. is listening and watching them!
    We will only be effective in our battle against unfair tactics if we voice our opinions nationwide.

  2. pamelag says:

    and these were elected by the people? really? THEY ALL NEED TO GO. seriously, calling and writing does not seem to have any effect. these fn bankssters should then offer deed-in-lieu if they “want to save$” however, THEY WANT YOU IN FORECLOSURE. my prayers go out to all of you caught up in this. Good will eventually prevail. God Bless America. and thankyou for keeping us informed

Leave a Reply